Home > Departments > English Language & Literature in english

English Language & Literature in english

EL.jpg

 

Too often we teach our students what to think, not how to think. -The Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD)

The English Language and Literature Department's focus is to develop students’ critical thinking skills. We want our students to develop meta-cognitively, knowing why they do what they do. This will in turn translate into students becoming more effective readers, viewers, writers and speakers of the Language.

Literature is also integral in developing students as analytical readers who appreciate an author's intent when using language for impact, and to engage his readers. In developing these skills, our mission is for Temasekians to become more self-directed in their learning and application. This way, they will become effective communicators. 


Level Programme Description Outcomes 
Lower Secondary
10-week Choral Reading Programme 

This engaging and enriching programme develops students’ ability to articulate with intent and meaning, representing what they read and hear effectively as they convey the appropriate emotions as intended by different poets and writers. After all, every story told well paints a million images in listeners’ and viewers’ minds.

Students learn to:

• Gain confidence as public speakers, in a series of performances at Secondary Two, during Evening Under the Stars

• Appreciate and analyse the nuances of language: how meaning and emotions can be conveyed with subtlety, or with certainty

• Take into consideration: Purpose, Audience, Context and Culture, a crucial life skill that is relevant for effective communication in real life contexts, and across all disciplines 

Secondary One to Three
The Reading in Curriculum Programme 

This programme exposes students to rich short stories that help students appreciate authors’ use of language. Through engaging and varied activities created by teachers, each story reveals interesting themes and issues about human behaviour that is a reflection of a slice of real life.
Students will be able to:

• Appreciate reading by looking at the authors’ craft in conveying meaning in creative ways, by manipulating language or by employing the clever art of storytelling. 

• Broaden their exposure to stories and a pool of effective and appropriate vocabulary 

• Become better writers, orators and hence more effective communicators
Secondary One to Three
Writers’ and Orators’ Club 

Selected students who have the talent and passion for writing and public speaking respectively will be identified by their teachers to be trained and to participate in specific competitions in order to develop their craft as writers and orators. Seen as our way of stretching students with talent, these clubs see students developing skills beyond the classroom curriculum.
Students will:

• Develop their thinking as they begin to venture into the conceptual thinking process behind their own writing or speeches. 

• Become responsible, critical thinkers who analyse each other’s work in order to improve their skills 

• Gain confidence as writers or speakers as student artefacts are published within the school or externally

  

Department Contact List 


Name/ Designation Email address
Mrs Jaya d/o Sivarama Pillai (HOD/EL) jaya_sivarama_pillai@moe.edu.sg
Miss Mazna Bte Mohd Hussain (SH/EL) mazna_mohd_hussain@moe.edu.sg
Mrs Andrea Chan (SH/ Literature [covering]) yap_ying_hui_andrea@moe.edu.sg
Mrs Cynthia Chong choo_ai_lin_cynthia@moe.edu.sg
Miss Deborah Chua Lihui
deborah_chua_lihui@moe.edu.sg
Mrs Govindarrasu Indriani govindarrasu_indriani@moe.edu.sg
Madam Harpreet Kaur harpreet_kaur_a@moe.edu.sg
Mrs Millicent Tee-Yap millicent_yap_yan_ying@moe.edu.sg
Mr Muhammad Hilmy B Zohry
muhammad_hilmy_zohry@moe.edu.sg
Miss Morni Basri morni_basri@moe.edu.sg
Madam Nadia Yacob nadia_yacob@moe.edu.sg
Mr Nur Hakim Alim Bin Salim nur_hakim_alim_salim@moe.edu.sg
Madam Nurhidayah Binte Mohamed Ali nurhidayah_mohamed_ali@moe.edu.sg
Miss Robyn Yang yang_liling_robyn@moe.edu.sg
Miss Shanthini Thiagarajah shanthini_thiagarajah@moe.edu.sg
Miss Sharon Koh koh_hui_hoon_sharon@moe.edu.sg
Mr Sulaiman Hussin sulaiman_hussin@moe.edu.sg
Miss Tia Kai Ling tia_kai_ling@moe.edu.sg