Home > Departments > English Language & Literature in english

English Language & Literature in english

EL.jpg

 

Too often we teach our students what to think, not how to think. -The Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD)

The English Language and Literature Department's focus is to nurture our students’ critical thinking and effective communication skills. We want our students to develop meta-cognitively, knowing why they do what they do. This will in turn translate into students becoming more effective readers, viewers, writers and speakers of the language.

Literature is also integral in developing students to be (i) critical readers who can appreciate the nuances of language and the author's intent when using language for impact, (ii) empathetic and global thinkers who can consider multiple perspectives and are sensitive to other's experiences, (iii) creative meaning makers who can confidently form their own informed interpretations, and (iv) convincing communicators who can effectively articulate their views. 

In developing these skills, our mission is for Temasekians to become more self-directed in their learning and application. This way, they will become confident, purposeful and responsible users of the language.

Level Programme Description Outcomes 
Lower Secondary
Readers' Theatre

This engaging and enriching programme develops students’ ability to articulate with intent and meaning, representing what they read and hear effectively as they convey the appropriate emotions as intended by different writers. After all, every story told well paints a million images in listeners’ and viewers’ minds. 
Students will:

• Become more effective speakers who can read and communicate with clarity

• Appreciate and analyse the nuances of language: how meaning and emotions can be conveyed with subtlety, or with certainty

• Take into consideration Purpose, Audience, Context and Culture, a crucial life skill that is relevant for effective communication in real life contexts, and across all disciplines  

Secondary One to Three
The Reading in Curriculum Programme 

This programme exposes students to rich short stories that help students appreciate authors’ use of language. Through engaging and varied activities created by teachers, each story reveals interesting themes and issues about human behaviour that is a reflection of a slice of real life.
Students will:

• Appreciate reading by looking at the authors’ craft in conveying meaning in creative ways, by manipulating language or by employing the clever art of storytelling. 

• Broaden their exposure to stories and a pool of effective and appropriate vocabulary 

• Become better writers, orators and hence more effective communicators

Secondary One to Three
Public Speaking           

Selected students who have the talent and passion for public speaking will be identified by their teachers to be trained and to participate in specific competitions in order to develop their craft as orators. Seen as our way of stretching students with talent, these clubs see students developing skills beyond the classroom curriculum.
Students will:

• Develop their thinking as they begin to venture into the conceptual thinking process behind their own writing or speeches. 

• Become responsible, critical thinkers who analyse each other’s work in order to improve their skills 

• Gain confidence as writers or speakers as student artefacts are published within the school or externally

Secondary Three
(Normal Course) 
Language Enrichment through Scrabble

This programme enables students to acquire a wider range of vocabulary through fun and challenging ways. Students work in teams to practise playing Scrabble and take part in competitions.    
Students will:

  • Learn new words and gain familiarity with word formation rules

  •  Strengthen their spelling

  

Department Contact List 


Name/ Designation Email address
Miss Mazna Bte Mohd Hussain (SH/EL) mazna_mohd_hussain@moe.edu.sg
Mrs Andrea Chan (SH/ Literature) yap_ying_hui_andrea@moe.edu.sg
Mrs Cynthia Chong choo_ai_lin_cynthia@moe.edu.sg
Miss Deborah Chua Lihui
deborah_chua_lihui@moe.edu.sg
Mrs Govindarrasu Indriani govindarrasu_indriani@moe.edu.sg
Madam Harpreet Kaur harpreet_kaur_a@moe.edu.sg
Ms Idriaty Sabariidriaty_sabari@moe.edu.sg 
Mr Lester Tan Jie Jun tan_jie_jun_lester@moe.edu.sg
Mrs Millicent Tee-Yap millicent_yap_yan_ying@moe.edu.sg
Mr Muhammad Hilmy B Zohry
muhammad_hilmy_zohry@moe.edu.sg
Miss Morni Basri morni_basri@moe.edu.sg
Madam Nadia Yacob nadia_yacob@moe.edu.sg
Mr Nur Hakim Alim Bin Salim nur_hakim_alim_salim@moe.edu.sg
Madam Nurhidayah Binte Mohamed Ali nurhidayah_mohamed_ali@moe.edu.sg
Miss Robyn Yang yang_liling_robyn@moe.edu.sg
Mr Shafiq Rafi shafiq_rafi@moe.edu.sg 
Miss Shanthini Thiagarajah shanthini_thiagarajah@moe.edu.sg
Miss Sharon Koh koh_hui_hoon_sharon@moe.edu.sg
Miss Tia Kai Ling tia_kai_ling@moe.edu.sg