Home > Departments > Science

Science

SCIENCE.jpg

 

The Science Department's focus is to develop students who continuously seek knowledge, appreciate the works of science in their daily lives and are aware of scientific developments around them. Our science curriculum seeks to help students enjoy and value science as a tool to help them explore their natural and physical world.

"The important thing is not to stop questioning; curiosity has its own reason for existing." - Albert Einstein


Level Programme Description Outcomes
Lower Secondary Science
In the Lower Secondary Physical Science programme, students are taught the inquiry process and to apply it to topics such as density, kinematics and electricity. The key component to the learning process will be the ability to observe and identify variables from various data sources. In Life Science programme, students learn how living things connect with the world around us, first at cellular level, then progressively at the systems level.

At Secondary One, students will be introduced to the various methods to measure quantities with accuracy and precision. 

At Secondary Two, students carry out inquiry approaches in the topics of kinematics and electricity by using laboratory equipment and ICT tools. 

They are also given real-world problems that integrate Science with Ethics to facilitate their learning in applying ethical principles to scientific contexts.

Students will:

• Develop inquiry skills through developing skills such as gathering data from all senses, possessing attitudes of curiosity, posing questions and hypothesis, as well and communicating with clarity and precision

• Build up a strong foundation in scientific literacy and help students understand the science behind issues happening in the world, and be able to make informed decisions based on scientific knowledge and evidence in the future
Biology
Bioethics

This programme exposes students to bioethical considerations in the real world. From organ trading to genetic engineering, students will engage in discussions about the value of life from various viewpoints of society.
Students learn to:

• Appreciate the importance of values and viewpoints in science investigation

• Articulate the ethical implications in making a decision when faced with a moral dilemma

Chemistry & Physics
Students' interests are piqued by being shown live demonstrations and we teach our students to understand the dichotomy between what we can and cannot directly see. This constitutes two contrasting views which we call macroscopic and microscopic. 

Live demonstrations are used to improve the level of inquiry engagement of students by getting them to hypothesise explanations for observations they will make during scientific demonstrations. For the hypothesising exercise to be effective in engaging students in more authentic scientific reasoning, the demonstration outcomes must be unexpected. In order for students to focus on their hypothesis and explanation, the demonstrations are related to the topics they are learning but not yet explained in the textbooks. With demonstrations anchored to topics learnt in the syllabus, students learn to apply familiar concepts to multiple situations. 


Students will be/learn how:

• Intrigued by live demonstrations where they can understand the science behind natural phenomena and appreciate the science in Nature

• To approach the unknown and ask questions that get to the core of what is unknown and how to make it known

Department Contact List


Name/ Designation Email address
Miss Alexis Lim (HOD/ Science) alexis_lim@moe.edu.sg
Dr Bryan Tan (SH/Chemistry [covering]) bryan_tan_yong_hao@moe.edu.sg
Mrs Carol Chan carol_chan@moe.edu.sg
Mr Ethan Tay tay_eng_kian@moe.edu.sg
Mrs Er Puay Huang tan_puay_huang@moe.edu.sg
Madam Farhanah Samsudin farhanah_samsudin@moe.edu.sg
Miss Ho Foong Ling ho_foong_ling@moe.edu.sg
Mr Jared Oh jared_oh@moe.edu.sg
Mr Lee Sze Meng lee_sze_meng@moe.edu.sg
Miss Liu Peishan liu_peishan@moe.edu.sg
Miss Lok Teng Ping teng_ping_lok@moe.edu.sg
Miss Michelle Luo Hui Lin huilin_michelle_luo@moe.edu.sg
Madam Nur' Adilah Bte Suhaimi Salleh nur_adilah_suhaimi_salleh@moe.edu.sg
Mr Seah Zuo Sheng seah_zuo_sheng@moe.edu.sg
Madam Sim Pheck Choo sim_pheck_choo@moe.edu.sg
Madam Tan Geok Leng tan_geok_leng_a@moe.edu.sg
Madam Tham Wai Lengtham_wai_leng@moe.edu.sg
Mrs Tracy Teo lim_sue_yee_tracy@moe.edu.sg
Miss Woon Mui Lang woon_mui_lang@moe.edu.sg
Mr Yeo Jun Song yeo_jun_song@moe.edu.sg
Mrs Zoe Chu-Yeo yeo_zoe@moe.edu.sg