Home > Departments > Mother Tongue Language

Mother Tongue Language

MTL.jpg

 

The Mother Tongue Department's (Chinese Language, Malay Language and Tamil Language) focus is to inspire a love for the language and culture in students in a nurturing environment, so as to develop students to be confident users of the language. With the changing multi-cultural and multi-lingual landscape in Singapore, we also hope to raise students' linguistic abilities through focusing on students' reading, writing, speaking, and listening skills, and ensuring that every student has the opportunity to express themselves and put the skills that they have learnt into authentic contexts purposely and meaningfully. We also seek to raise the cultural awareness of students through various cultural programmes and activities, so that they can learn to embrace and appreciate their own and one another’s cultures.

As a Higher Malay Centre, we aim to equip students with a good command of the language, attain a higher level of proficiency and a deep appreciation and love of the Malay language, literature and culture.


Level Programme Description Outcomes
All levels
MTL Reading Programme

This programme aims to instil an interest for reading MTL short stories which helps students to appreciate the author's use of language. Through engaging and varied activities created by teachers, each story bears different themes and characterisation which helps strengthen students’ grasp and confidence of their MT languages.

In addition to reading stipulated literary works recommended by teachers, students also participate in the school's Annual Reading Superstar Competition where they collaborate to create videos or podcasts that capture their reflections upon reading. Selected students also attend reading-related activities and literary seminars, such as during the Mother Tongue Fortnight events, or outside of school.
Students will:

• Gain interest in, and broaden their exposure to reading, through reading various types of literary works

• Develop their critical thinking and language skills as they reflect on their reading of various works

• Be more confident and effective communicators as they create videos/podcasts that capture their reflections

• Appreciate and understand the author's craft and creativity in conveying meaning to broaden own's craft in reading and writing
Secondary One to Three
Mother Tongue Fortnight Programme

Students are immersed in various cultural and literary activities during the Mother Tongue Fortnight. 

This programme exposes students to targeted activities for different groups and levels of students; as well as activities which involves mass participation to allow every student to enjoy, appreciate and understand the language and culture. 

Students are engaged in various activities, such as workshops on traditional art forms bean art, making of dough figurines, paper cutting and Chinese opera to allow students to learn about traditional Chinese arts not commonly seen in Singapore. Students also participate in guided reading activities, such as movie appreciation sessions and literary seminars by local authors They are also given the opportunity to appreciate their culture in an authentic setting such as a learning journey to heritage centres. 

These activities bring the students on insightful journeys into the literary works that they read.
Students will be able to:

• Widen their knowledge and appreciation of their MTL and culture through various hands on activities

• Extend their learning and understanding of their MTL beyond the classroom

• Enjoy and express their creativity through various oratorical and singing competitions

Department Contact List

Malay Language Department
Name/ Designation Email address
Madam Sahriana Bte Rani (HOD/ MTL [covering])               sahriana_rani@moe.edu.sg
Madam Asnia Adas asnia_adas@moe.edu.sg
Miss Farah Ashikin B Mohamed Ridzwanfarah_ashikin_mohamed_ridzwan@moe.edu.sg
Madam Norashikin Mahat        norashikin_mahat@moe.edu.sg
Madam Rozmaini Abu Bakar rozmaini_abu_bakar@moe.edu.sg
Miss Nurul Huda Bte Mohd Kamarulzaman nurul_huda_mohd_kamarulzaman@moe.edu.sg
Madam Siti Farhana bte Mohamed Shariff siti_farhana_mohamed_shariff@moe.edu.sg

 

Chinese Language Department 
Name/ Designation Email address
Madam Lim Chuan Sang (SH/CL) lim_chuan_sang@moe.edu.sg
Madam Liang Yan liang_yan@moe.edu.sg
Miss Chen Xujing chen_xujing@moe.edu.sg
Miss Lim Chan Tuan lim_chan_tuan@moe.edu.sg
Mr Niu Jing Quan niu_jingquan@moe.edu.sg
Mr Poon Han Yaw poon_han_yaw@moe.edu.sg
Mr Wong Ching Siong wong_ching_siong@moe.edu.sg
Mrs Soo-Tay Yu Xin tay_yu_xin@moe.edu.sg
Mrs Tan Lee Cheng tan_lee_cheng_a@moe.edu.sg
Miss Tay Qin Xuan tay_qin_xuan@moe.edu.sg 
Mdm Yong Huay Ping TBC

 

 

Tamil Language Department 
Name/ Designation Email address
Dr. Alamal Thanganathan alamal_thanganathan@moe.edu.sg
Madam JLM Amaljacintha j_l_m_amaljacintha@moe.edu.sg
Dr. S. Jasline Presilda jasline_presilda_sathiya_seelan@moe.edu.sg